Marketing Metrics: The Science That Makes the Art of Advertising Profitable

Would your sales increase if you got more leads, prospects, callers, or visitors coming to your business? Wouldn’t it be exciting if there were a way to achieve this while reducing your marketing costs at the same time? Well, there is a way and I’m going to share that with you right now.

Here it is. STOP spending money on advertising and promotions that do NOT produce profitable leads. Then take those dollars you were previously wasting and START investing them in advertising and promotions that DO produce profitable leads.

But exactly how can this be achieved? First, you need the type of hard data you get from Marketing Metrics Reports. To find out more about this, let’s look at a few simple examples.

Let’s assume you use a yellow pages ad, flyers, and radio ads to attract prospective customers.

If you spend $12,000 per year on yellow pages advertising and this gets you 600 leads per year, you can calculate the cost of each lead by dividing the cost of the advertising by the number of leads you get. $12,000 divided by 600 leads equals $20. In other words, each lead you get using this method costs you $20.

We call this $20 your ‘Lead Acquisition Cost’. Depending on the amount of your average sale, paying $20 for each lead could be tremendously profitable.

However, in our example, let’s assume that your yellow pages ad doesn’t work so well and you get only 60 leads per year while spending $12,000 on the advertising. In this example your Lead Acquisition Cost works out to $200. If your average sale is only $150 and your customers (on average) deal with you once every year, obviously a Lead Acquisition Cost of $200 is just not profitable.

To complete our example, we’ll assume your lead acquisition cost with flyers is $26 per lead and with radio ads it is $97 per lead.

When you have this information, you become aware that (in this example) you must eliminate your yellow pages advertising with its Lead Acquisition Cost of $200 per lead so you can afford to send out more flyers, which have a Lead Acquisition Cost of $26 per lead.

You would also let your radio advertising reps know they must produce dramatically better results right away or your radio ads will be eliminated as well.

From the above example, we can easily understand the lesson. To make profitable advertising decisions you need to know your EXACT Lead Acquisition Cost for EVERY form of advertising and promotion you use.

How do you track that? You create Marketing Metrics Reports. But before you do that, let’s consider a few more variables. Some types of advertising produce a greater percentage of ‘tire kickers’ and a smaller percentage of buyers. So we now see that our Marketing Metrics Reports should track not only the cost and number of leads produced by each type of advertising—they should also tell us how many of the leads from each advertising source became buyers.

When we have this information, we can calculate our ‘Customer Acquisition Cost’ or, in other words, the amount it costs us to ‘buy’ a customer using each different type of advertising.

Also, at this point we need to understand another marketing metrics term—Conversion Rate. Your Conversion Rate is simply the percentage of leads or prospects that actually buy something. You calculate this percentage by dividing the number of prospects who became customers through buying something by the total number of prospects you talked to.

It is critical to calculate the conversion rate for each individual salesperson as well as the conversion rate for your team as a whole. We’ll use an example to illustrate why knowing your conversion rate for each salesperson is so important.

Lets suppose you have 3 salespeople on staff. You calculated that 48% of the prospects who talked to Salesperson A actually bought something. This means that Salesperson A’s conversion rate is 48%. To continue with our example, lets assume that Salesperson B has a conversion rate of 33% and Salesperson C has a conversion rate of 24%.

Really think about what this means. Salesperson C uses up twice as many leads per sale as Salesperson A. Of course, this means when Salesperson C makes a sale, your profits are dramatically less than when Salesperson A sells something. Let’s plug some numbers into our example to see why profits are so strongly affected.

If the Customer Acquisition Cost per sale is $56 dollars for Salesperson A, then the Customer Acquisition Cost for Salesperson C is $112. This is because Salesperson C’s conversion rate is only half as good as Salesperson A’s. This high Customer Acquisition Cost (probably caused by Salesperson C’s poor sales skills) likely means that you lose money on every sale made by Salesperson C. It looks even worse when you calculate the lost gross profits on the potential sales Salesperson C failed to make.

In this example, your Marketing Metrics Reports have again served you well. You now know Salesperson C must improve his or her conversion rate (probably through additional sales training) or termination will be necessary.

Now let’s review how your Marketing Metrics Reports have helped you boost revenue and cut costs—in other words, made your business more profitable.

1. Your Marketing Metrics Reports have identified which forms of advertising and promotion are effective at generating leads and which are not. You know for sure exactly how much it costs to buy each lead using each different type of advertising.

2. Your Marketing Metrics Reports have helped you determine the relative quality of leads from each advertising source. You know which types of ads bring in the ‘tire kickers’ and which types of ads bring in buyers.

3. Your Marketing Metrics Reports have identified the conversion rate of each individual on your sales team as well as the conversion rate of your team as a whole. This gives you the information you need to implement ‘best practices’, focus your training efforts, and even decide which salespeople to replace if they fail to improve.

With this critical information in hand, you can make decisions that will quickly improve your bottom line. Of course, without this information some of your decisions and actions will be a blind gamble—not good if you are serious about maximizing your profits.

What do Marketing Metrics Reports look like? They are usually simple charts or spreadsheets where the type of information identified above can be easily entered. If you would like to see sample reports, e-mail the author and he will send you some. You can then modify the reports, making them perfect for use in your business.

Make Your PC Safe for Employees And Children

1 Click Safe PC is the ultimate parental control software for the internet conscious parents that helps them in having a choice of the content their children access when they are away. You can restrict your children from playing games and browsing adult websites. It can also be used to restrict your office employees from running certain applications like IM, games and other entertainment stuff. It works with almost all browsers and best of all it is very easy to install, configure and maintain. All the functions can be controlled through a password protected interface that can be easily understood by an average internet user.

Features
*Can block multiple application software simultaneously at office hours.
*Can block adult websites or URLs having certain specified keywords.
*Works safely with admin password protection. *Completely safe program does not use more system resources or do any damaging activity.
*Can be installed, configured and managed easily

Release Date: 19 Mar 2007
Release Version: 2.0
Size: 3.60 MB
Platforms: Windows XP, Me, 98, NT and 2000, 2003, Windows Vista

Vps Hosting Explained

If you’ve grown and promoted your websites to a point where they attract thousands of visitors per day, or if you are using demanding scripts and databases, you will need to think about more powerful hosting options than shared or reseller hosting. If you cannot afford a dedicated server at this point but require the same performance and stability, then VPS (virtual private server) hosting may be the best solution for you.

Vps hosting plans consist of a server divided into multiple isolated accounts, and each VPS account has its own independent operating system with it’s own web server and mail server resources – no sharing here. Just like a dedicated server, you can have access to all configuration files within your account which means a greater ability for you to install and run custom software should you choose to.

In addition to providing more control over your hosting environment, VPS accounts are more secure than shared hosting accounts. If a hacker were to find access to a shared server he could damage any or all of the websites on that server at once. But because a VPS server is divided into isolated accounts, even if a hacker were to gain entry through one account there is no way to access the others.

More experienced webmasters may wish to manage the technical aspects of their VPS accounts, but this can be a time-consuming and complicated task. It’s little wonder many people prefer to have their VPS hosting accounts fully managed by the hosting provider. Usually you’ll pay a few dollars per month extra for this, but this can free up your valuable time and energy to concentrate on content and website promotion.

Here’s a list of good value Vps hosting providers at www.Hostingdiary.com

You can expect to pay $40-$70 per month for an entry-level, fully managed VPS hosting account and this will allow you to run multiple sites from one account just like a reseller account. You’ll be provided with an operating system, control panel, your own allocation of RAM memory, plus large space and bandwidth resources are incuded in the best VPS hosting plans. A minimum of 256MB guaranteed ram is suggested in order to run your control panels and database driven sites smoothly. For higher traffic sites consider 384MB or 512MB of guaranteed ram or more.

Recovering Your Digital Photos

Digital photos are something that are important to all of us. Most of the pictures we take only happen once in a lifetime. As important as they are, nothing is worse than losing them. This can be very traumatic and frustrating, especially knowing that you’ll never to capture the picture again.

Even though it may appear that the camera malfunctioned, all hope isn’t completely lost. There are ways that you can recover your digital photographs , even though you may not be aware of it. Most digital camera’s for instance, use smart cards that will store the information. To be on the safe side, you should always safe your photographs to your card, and transfer them to your computer the first chance you get – then back them up to a CD or DVD.

Sometimes, when you have your photographs on your computer, you may move them to the recycle bin and not even realize it. You can always correct this, by right mouse clicking the recycle bin then choosing to open it up. If the pictures are there, simply drag them to your desktop or right click them and choose restore. This will put them back in the location they were in before they were moved to the recycle bin.

There are other instances where your photographs aren’t this easy to recover. If the card in your camera has become corrupted or if your camera has experienced hardware problems, then it won’t be so easy to recover your pictures. If this is the case, you should always look towards software or professional repairmen. There is software out there that is designed for most types of digital camera problems, and it can normally recover your pictures in the case of malfunction.

Most services and software can recover almost all files that you have on your camera, from JPEG pictures to video files. Most people transfer their pictures to their computer as soon as they can, which can be recovered using data recovery methods. On the other hand, those who don’t, will need a professional to take a look at the camera. If you don’t waste any time and seek a professional immediately, your pictures can normally be recovered.

Digital cameras are something that most of us own these days, as they take professional quality photos. Anytime that it appears you have lost your pictures, you can turn to software and professional recovery services to get your pictures back. Your digital photographs are very important, which is why you’ll want to take care of them. Mistakes and disasters do happen though – which is why there are recovery services.

Wondershare releases DVD/Video Converter for BlackBerry 3.1.22

Wondershare Software, a leading developer of digital video editing and multi-media software provider, just released Wondershare BlackBerry Converter Suite. It is a bundled suite program by two programs: Wondershare DVD to BlackBerry Converter and Wondershare Video Converter for BlackBerry.
Wondershare BlackBerry Converter Suite is developed for users who want to put their DVD movies and video files on their BlackBerry phones. It can convert DVD movies and regular video files to BlackBerry video AVI, 3GP, AVI and WMV and extract audios from DVD and video files to BlackBerry audio MP3, WMA and AAC.
This BlackBerry Converter Suite provides editing functions including video crop, movie trim, file merging, batch conversion (for video files), DVD subtitle and audio track selection, and movie picture capturing and so on.

Key Features of Wondershare BlackBerry Converter Suite:
• Convert DVD and video files to BlackBerry videos
Convert DVD and various video formats (MOV, WMV, MP4, 3GP, RM, MPEG, MPG, FLV and ASF) to BlackBerry videos including AVI, 3GP, MP4 and WMV.
• Extract audio from DVD and video files
Convert audio from DVDs and video files to MP3, WMA and AAC.
• Select subtitle and audio track
Select subtitle and audio track to convert DVD to BlackBerry with the language you prefer.
• Batch conversion
Convert multiple video files at a time.
• Merge file
Converter multiple DVD chapters/titles or video files into one file.
• Trim Movie
Trim DVD and video movies to only convert your favorite clips.
• Crop Video
Crop your movie video to remove the black sides around your movie video.
• Support Dual-core or Multi-core processors.
• Capture and save pictures from your DVD and video movies.
System Requirements:
• Microsoft Windows2000/2003/XP/Vista
• Intel or AMD processor, 1GHz or above
• Windows Media Player.
• DirectX 9.0 or above.
• 512 MB or above RAM.

Pricing and Availability
Wondershare BlackBerry Converter Suite is available now for $39. For more information about Wondershare BlackBerry Converter Suite, you can visit
http://www.dvd-ripper-copy.com/blackberry-converter-suite.html and download a trial version at http://www.dvd-ripper-copy.com/download/blackberry-suite-download.html

Secretly Monitor Your Employee Activities During Office Hours

Employee Activity Live Watcher is a secret monitoring application that records and logs everything your employee does on the computer while at work. It even takes screenshots every minute. It runs secretly in the background and is completely secure with a password protected interface. I can now finally remain doubt free of what my employee is doing during office hours. I’m using the basic client edition which can monitor only one employee at a time but that’s enough for me.

Homepage http://www.mdccindia.com

Features
*Total real time control over networked computers.
*Invisible to the Employee under watch.
*Monitor what software your employees use and what they do.
*Completely safe and does not use more system resources

DOWNLOAD

SCWCD JAVA 1.4: New Practice test for Java exam CX-310-081 by uCertify

uCertify, (April 1, 2007) uCertify, a leading provider of practice exam and preparation software for Java certifications, today released its new practice test software for the SCWCD java 1.4 certification exam. The product helps programmers, who have knowledge in JSP and servlet technologies, prepare for the exam.

“Recently, considerable changes were made in the SCWCD exam pattern, as a result of which this exam has now become a tough one to pass. We have developed this PrepKit after comprehensive research and analysis of the SCWCD exam objectives and keeping in view these changes. The new PrepKit covers 100% exam objectives and comes with practice questions, study notes, articles, ‘how tos’ and exam tips, providing you everything you need to pass this certification exam in the first attempt.” Said David Jackson, Director Product Management, uCertify.

A free to download version of this PrepKit is available at: http://www.ucertify.com/exams/SUN/CX310-081.html

The PrepKit for the CX-310-081 exam contains 5 interactive practice tests with 330 realistic questions that simulate the actual exam. Each question comes with detailed analysis of both correct as well as incorrect answers, which helps the user to understand the basic concepts and the logical reasoning, which follows the solution.

Users can easily learn the technical terms, concepts and definitions by studying the 130 study notes that come with the PrepKit. The PrepKit also contains 150-quiz questions to help users review key concepts, which are building blocks for understanding complex JSP and Servlet technologies. This makes users more confident while attempting questions in the actual SCWCD exam.

The PrepKit is flexible and adapts itself according to the learning style of the user. Users can create customized tests that focus on their weak areas, so that they can overcome their shortcomings and increase their knowledge base in these specific areas.

The SCWCD PrepKit tracks a user’s progress with a number of reporting tools and comprehensive performance reports. The PrepKit actually informs users when they are ready for the actual exam. Users also get unlimited free upgrades for a year from the date of purchase, so that they always have the latest study material to prepare for the exams.

The PrepKit comes with full money back guarantee. A user can get full refund of money, if he does not pass the exam in the first attempt. More information about the money back guarantee can be found on the uCertify website.

About uCertify

uCertify develops exam preparation kits (PrepKits) for all Sun Java certification exams. The firm is helping IT students worldwide prepare for Java certifications such as SCJA, SCJP and SCWCD to name a few. The products are designed after extensive research by a panel of experienced Java certified professionals to give the latest and most advanced preparation tools to candidates aspiring for these certification exams.

For more information about uCertify, please visit: http://www.ucertify.com

A+ IT Technician Practice Tests

SimulationExams.com, a provider of certification practice tests released A+ IT Technician practice tests. A+ IT Technician™ exam is an optional exam offered by Comptia® counting towards A+ 2006 certification. A+ IT Tech exam is intended for candidates who have hands-on experience in configuration and maintenance of desktop and laptop computers. The practice tests offered by SimulationExams include 250+ highly relevant questions that provide a simulated test environment for a candidate before appearing for final certification exam. The advantages of a simulated exam are:

  • Ability to gauge one’s preparedness to take actual certification exam
  • To acquaint oneself with actual exam environment (such as timed test, relevant practice questions, etc.)
  •  To know weak areas and prepare for the same quickly and affectively

Other optional exams available for A+ 2006 include:

  • A+ Remote Technician, and
  • A+ Depot Technician

Yahoo Publisher Network: Another Way to Have Your Website Earn Its Keep

Have you ever wished for someone to come along and compete with “Google’s Adsense Program”? With the launch of “Yahoo’s Publisher Network”(YPN) you could say that some wishes really do come true.

If you’re not familiar with Adsense or YPN, both programs allow you to add specialized coding to your website pages and then display text-based ads which are related to the content on the page. For example, if you have a sports related website theme, then ads would be shown for sporting goods and services.

Google had this market cornered for a long time, but with YPN there’s now some “friendly competition” — which is a good thing for everyone involved.

Yahoo’s Publisher Network (YPN) is currently in beta and only available to publishers in the United States. You can apply for the program at http://publisher.yahoo.com. Word on the “Internet Street” is that Yahoo hopes to be out of beta by the end of the year and has plans for offering additional services as well.

Once accepted into the program (which they’re calling “Content Match”), you’ll need to log into the YPN control panel to select your ad formats and colors. There are 10 different ad unit sizes to choose from. For example: Square 250X250, Large Rectangle 336X280, Small Rectangle 180X150, Banner 468X60, and so on. Most of the sizes offered are similar to those you’ll find on Google’s Adsense.

Customized color schemes can be created for your ad lay-out, or you can go with any of the standard ad colors. You can set background color, text and link colors.

YPN offers full reporting and tracking capabilities. You can track up to 50 channels to find out which pages and ads are your top performers.

Once the code is in place on your pages, Yahoo will crawl your site’s content to insure that relevant ads appear. If no targeted ads are available, public service ads will be shown.

YPN gives you a bit of control over competitors’ ads showing up on your site, with the option of blocking up to 200 of them.

In their efforts to differentiate themselves from Adsense, YPN is also offering something called “Ad Targeting.” This allows you to choose up to two ad categories for your entire site, or just for specific pages. This is done in order to target your visitors with ads based on their specific interests. This in no way guarantees that only ads from those categories will be shown; it just gives Yahoo a better idea of what types of ads you’d like to see appear on your site.

You can choose up to two categories per targeted URL, to a maximum of 50. If you don’t see a category that fits your pages you can always suggest it be added. There are currently 20 categories to choose from. For example “automotive, B2B, computing,” with 109 sub categories.

If you’ve been showing Google ads on your site for some time now and are thinking about adding YPN’s to increase your revenue, keep in mind it is against Yahoo’s terms of service to display any other contextual ads on the same pages as theirs. So if you want to run both programs on your site you’ll have to put one on each page, or get your hands on a rotation script that will rotate both ad types, one at a time, on all pages of your site. One such script can be found at Shoemoney.

Another really nice feature that Google is lacking is Yahoo’s “Balance Transfer Option.” If you also use Yahoo’s Search Marketing Program for your pay per click advertising and you use the same user name and password for both, you can transfer money from your publisher network account at YPN to your sponsored search account. There are no minimum amounts for transfers and you’ll need to manually make the request in order to move the funds, but this is a handy feature.

When it comes to payday and any earnings you may have coming to you, there is a minimum payout of $100.00 before Yahoo will cut you a check. Checks are sent 45 days after the close of the calendar month. For example, any earnings made in September will be paid to you by November 15th. I’d like to see them shorten up the pay cycles in the future, as most small entrepreneurs generally need cash sooner rather then later.

It’s going to be interesting to watch this new race heat up between Google and Yahoo. Competition is always a good motivator and who knows, it may encourage Google to offer new features as well knowing they don’t have the corner on the contextual market.

Keep your eyes peeled for future changes and enhancements and may the best man win!

What is Your Unique Selling Proposition? You’re Leaving Money on the Table if You Don’t Have One…

If you’ve done any freelance work in marketing, you may be familiar with the phrase “unique selling proposition” (commonly known as the “USP”).

The USP tells your prospect what differentiates your product from everyone else’s in your category. And it’s the single most important reason your prospect will buy from you…or from someone else.

But did you know that you, as a freelancer, are a “product” too…and that you need a USP to differentiate you from all of the other business freelancers working in your field? The most successful copywriters can say why they’re the best writer for the job. Can you?

There are many ways to differentiate yourself from the competition. I trade on my agency experience and “big name” clients. When I help my coaching students discover their Unique Selling Proposition, we start with a review of their experience and successes.

We are positioning one of my students as a “problem solver,” because he’s taken start-up companies to great success as a software salesman. Another student is positioned as “the headline Doctor” because she feels she is exceptional at writing headlines. She offers potential clients a free headline critique of their marketing materials, valued at $300.

Even if you think you have nothing in your background that will position you as special or unique, you’re almost certainly wrong. One of my students is entering copywriting after spending a lifetime in anthropology. “How can I possibly find anything in anthropology that a marketer would value?” she asked. “Tell me about anthropology I replied.”

After a 10-minute discussion she mentioned that there are seven motivators that are common to all people in all cultures. “Could a product or service have any kind of connection to any of these motivators?” I asked. And we brainstormed common products and services that are commonly sold via direct mail, ads, or eCommerce.

It turned out that there was a link to the seven motivators for every product or service, which allowed us to say that my student had a deeper level of empathy for people (and prospects), than most copywriters. And since the ability to convey empathy is so critical to the success of a marketing piece, then a client would be well served by using her copywriting services over someone else’s.

My student went on to create a free report to give to potential clients, entitled “The Amazing Link Between Anthropology and Direct Marketing that Can Really Increase Your Profits.” We also created an “Empathy Scale” so she could offer to measure the “empathy level” of a client’s past mailing.

So think for a moment. What would you say if a potential client asked “Why you?” If you don’t have a quick answer, then it’s time to create your own powerful USP.

Award-winning copywriter Chris Marlow publishes a free newsletter for freelancers who want to build a successful business. Visit:

http://www.FreelancersBusinessBulletin.com

Chris also shows business freelancers how to quickly build a successful business. Visit:

http://www.TheCopywritersCoach.com